First airboat

Best airboat discussion on the internet.
truculentproos
Southern Airboat Member

First airboat

Postby truculentproos » Thu May 11, 2017 2:52 pm

Hello all ,
I was interested in getting some opinions on the first boat I should purchase . I am from South Florida, have a vacation house near lake Okeechobee .I will need something to accommodate at least four people. I am not new to air boats , my grandfather and father both had one . I am looking for something that is fuel efficient , has a long range and maybe capable of going into some salt water, I also don't want to spend a heap of money on a first boat . I've looked at minis but I am not sure that would fit my needs . I also have considered both aircraft and automotive engines and think I would prefer an automotive , simply because I used to be an automotive technician . Any thoughts?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Southern Airboat mobile app powered by Tapatalk

Sniper
Site Supporter - VIII
Site Supporter - VIII

Re: First airboat

Postby Sniper » Fri May 12, 2017 6:45 am

If I was you I would try to find a nice used High sided boat thats at least 14 ft long with a fuel injected Chevy LS engine in it
the LS engine is by far the best Airboat motor thats ever been used to date if you want to carry weight and have fuel economy and if you have never driven one much I would highly recommend you getting some training before you start taking the boat that you buy out
Sniper You can run but why die tired, If you heard my shot you were not the target
DOI Airboat Instructor

Stars & Bars
Southern Airboat Member

Postby Stars & Bars » Fri May 12, 2017 10:52 am

go with high sided alum. car motor , with reduction......and take it to kissimmee to get stick time.
PEACE , through superior fire power!!!

truculentproos
Southern Airboat Member

Postby truculentproos » Fri May 12, 2017 1:18 pm