Old airboat, new driver, and problems

Automotive powered airboat discussion.
StrongVet
Southern Airboat Member

Old airboat, new driver, and problems

Postby StrongVet » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:53 pm

I've stalked these forums for some time but only tonight registered to post. I'm a newbie that is learning about airboats, engines, propellers, and horse trading all at the same time.

A buddy has some marsh land we like to hunt and want to take our kids out. We need transportation, so I bought an old Lone Star Trail Boss 14'x8' glass boat with a 454 BBC DD and 72" wood prop that seats 5. The boat was in bad shape but ran and the "price was right." I knew it would take money and work to get it good. I was right.

The hull has been completely reworked - new stringers, new transom, new glass, and Fasco 9xn 2000 SuperSlick applied to the bottom. I bedlined the inside. The cage, engine stand, and frame have all been inspected, repaired where needed, reinforced, sand blasted, and will soon be painted. The prop and rudders have been removed and I will be ordering new ones to replace them.

The problem comes from the engine. Even though it ran, I decided to take it to a local mechanic for inspection and rebuild. He found two cylinders with water damage and a crack in the block. Needless to say, I need a new powerplant. I am not an engines guy, nor am I a master welder. For ease of installation I would like to just bolt on another 454 BBC and be done with it. I have questions:

1. Will a BBC do what I need it to do, or do I need to plan for a different powerplant?
2. With that size boat, am I OK with DD or do I need to add reduction? And, if adding reduction, do I keep the BBC?
3. Where can I get a reliable BBC for an airboat and not break the bank getting it to Houston?
4. Am I asking the right questions?

Thanks for the pro advice.

- Kris in Houston :texas:
Gig'em! Fightin' Texas Aggie c/o 2003
Deus caritas est