Airboat skipping on water/plane

A general, non-powerplant specific, discussion on airboat technology, ie., hulls, rigging, polymer, etc..
markhexamer
Southern Airboat Member

Airboat skipping on water/plane

Postby markhexamer » Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:43 am

I am very new to air boating please forgive me for any ignorance I have towards this, we all started fresh at one point.

I bought an airboat originally with a Cadillac 1974 472 engine and had to replace it and put a 500 engine. 14' x 7.5' aluminum flat bottom deep hull 6' single blade whirlwind prop carb is a 700. no reduction drive

the problem I am having is once I get on a plane (smooth water) the boat keeps skipping
[youtube]https://youtu.be/elpcX3WdOKI [/youtube]

skipping starts at about 25 seconds into video

I live in the Pan Handle are Navarre Beach Florida any other boaters in the area?

Deano
Site Supporter - V
Site Supporter - V

Re: Airboat skipping on water/plane

Postby Deano » Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:03 am

To embed a video, use the [youtube] function like you did, but only put in the youtube
identifier, not the entire address. In this case, putting in elpcX3WdOKI will yield this . . .

What you are experiencing is called porpoising and if the bottom is straight and true, is usually caused by the back (prop) end of the engine being a little to high. You should start with the engine parallel to the stringers. If the bottom has no issues, usually just a little bit up in the back will work the best.

If you can easily drop the back (or raise the front) using a fender washer or two, it is just as easy to do this first as to pursue all the other possibilities. Keep your fingers crossed. . . that may correct it, if not, there is plenty of help here.

This thread explains how changing the engine pitch effects things when the bottom is good:
http://www.southernairboat.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=28600