• If you log in, the ads disappear in the forum and gallery. If you need help logging in or getting registered, send request to: webmaster@southernairboat.com

anybody do flint knapping

jpatter123

I don't recall hearing about it too much in my life but I have seen quite a few things about it lately and the articles on it in woods n water have peaked my interest. Anybody here do it and know how difficult it is? Is it impossible to learn from a book/dvd? Any pointers or ideas of where someone should turn to first would be appreciated. If its something that takes years to become even somewhat procificent tell me now before I even try.

heres the real mcoy, i found this one this year
27136.jpg

arrowheads are my passion, ive been hunting them for about 35 years

I've done some napping and used to dig hard for a couple of years mostly around orange lake area. I have some friends that are really good at it they set around on the week ends and do it you could sit in and learn. Carl dowel is one of the guys he is a master and wins shows ECT.

Knapping is pretty awesome with the different types of flint and with heat treating. A buddy of mine does it with a deer antler and a piece of leather in the crook of his elbow. He lost the lower part of his arm to a moccasin. Try to get some coral from Tampa bay area and some obsidian from out west. I have been artifact hunting for over 40 years. My Dad took me as a kid.

We cook up some coastal chert in a kiln and have done it the indian way under camp fire in sand to. Your buddy sounds like he don't let nothing stop him. It takes a lot of force to do pressure flakes with two hands much less one. Would like to get some more withlacuchee coral! Napping mad me a better digger b/c i reconized the flint chips and could tell more about the points and what stage of flaking they were in.nice clay by the way 8)