• If you log in, the ads disappear in the forum and gallery. If you need help logging in or getting registered, send request to: webmaster@southernairboat.com

Tail Rudder

Thepwood

Hello all, Pat from northern Alberta here. I bought an old airboat last week and I thought this would be a great forum to join to profit from multiple years experience. I notice the boat doesn’t turn real great at slow speeds and I believe it’s because the tail rudders aren’t long enough. I started drawing out a pattern to extend them but I’d sure appreciate some feedback to see if I’m wasting my time. Thank you in advance

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    409.6 KB · Views: 1,886
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    406.9 KB · Views: 1,886
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    383.4 KB · Views: 1,886
What do they measure now, (height by depth)?
How far apart are they? What is the distance from the leading edge of them to the prop?
Understand that the air coming off the prop moves up the blade toward the hub before going aft to the rudders.
The thrust column you are generating is mostly centered around the hub and nearly nonexistent at the ends of the blades.
What you have there would work much better moved up to be centered in the prop wash, as is, the bottom third third is mostly ineffective.
I would expect that extending them as is, would most likely, not make a noticeable difference.

I see a fold down top section of your cage, (which I'm guessing set the height of the rudders).
Does the boat still go under bridges or other obstacles warranting the fold down cage?
If so, the suggestion Deano made, (to which is valid) you probably couldn't do?

Would like to see more of your "long belt drive", (are those automotive style V-belts)? What kind of powerplant?
And does the transom lower, is that polymer on the transom?

X2 on Deano's input for sure.