• If you log in, the ads disappear in the forum and gallery. If you need help logging in or getting registered, send request to: webmaster@southernairboat.com

Tuning Chevy's????

BluCreek

Howdy all
SA newbie here,
I was wondering what/how you can tune a LS1 series motor on a Airboat ??
Do/Can you use a stock PCM?
I am a Pipeline Welder, who has picked up the art of LS1 tuning along the way(Long 2yr chassis Dyno story) through the stock PCM.
I live on the Elk River in WV, and interested in building a LS1 boat. So I reg. this site to get myself up to date.

BluCreek, take a look at the new video entitled "Too rough for my camera". Same guy Plum told you about doing engine testing.

Nobody I know has devoted himself to the LS-2 like Thunder. He can make 'em dance.

olf

If I can help at all let me know. I could probably save you a bunch of grief and time! I just helped a guy in Texas make all the need conversions with his stock LS1.

There will be some issues you gotta keep the water temp down around 160deg and a stock ECU doesn't like that. You can have it burned and that will work. I have done motors for cars that people have done that but everything I do with airboats has a stand alone fully programmable system! Is your airdoor fly by wire or cable!

So starting w/ a stock PCM I can aadjust or change all related ECT tables to accommodate heads, cam, turbo's ect. Make idle adjustments WOT ect. Would have to figure out how to delete/disable the Transmission. I'm just thinking that for someone like myself up here, if I can have the option of adjusting and changing myself, I would be far ahead.

Also need to look at "skid plate" options.[/img]