Intro

Chief 21
Southern Airboat Member

Intro

Post by Chief 21 »

Well what can i say but the fact is that im new to all this air blowing machinery 8) Im a crazy Kayaker from way down South near Brownsville and Port-Mansfield Texas. Been fishing of my yak for merely 15 years now and was given the opportunity to go gar fishing on an air-boat. Had a crazy and awesome time and since then been looking for an air boat. Problem is that these boats run pretty expensive so I opted to look for a low budget project. Prob 2 is that we don't have many air-boats running down here as well so the list is very short and expensive. Found a setup rigged with a 1968 chevy corvair engine w cage seats and throttle assembly for 1500$. Wanted to know what u all thought and what would b the limitations of such setup? Dont want anything big, maybe a two person set up. Yes I would also need a Hull. My question about a hull is how expensive would it b to build my own? Was thinking of a john boat but have read its not a good idea! :? Thank you all for your input! :thumbleft:
Attachments
This is the set up Im thinking of Purchasing!
This is the set up Im thinking of Purchasing!
20131027_133445.jpg (68.03 KiB) Viewed 8607 times
20131027_133617.jpg
20131027_133617.jpg (82.1 KiB) Viewed 8607 times
20131027_133538.jpg
20131027_133538.jpg (82.75 KiB) Viewed 8607 times

Wild Bill
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Re: Intro

Post by Wild Bill »

Think you might do just as well bolting a prop on the back of a wrecker Chevy 350. or better.. Yeah you would have to build rigging and buy a prop and adapter but.. Search corvair on here, pretty marginal and problematic from what I read. DD Caddy can be an inexpensive build and impressive performer.

Could never understand the 1/2 cage

dougeey
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Post by dougeey »

half cages are to get under low bridges turn motor off set prop sideways

AirRanger
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Post by AirRanger »