Gyroscopic load change while doing 360's

Airboat propeller discussion.
Cool Money
Southern Airboat Member

Gyroscopic load change while doing 360's

Post by Cool Money »

I leave this for the prop manufacturers to answer but this was explained to me years ago by an old AC builder and it made a lot of sense. This is something I think should be included when you purchase a new prop is a diagram of how gyroscopic loads change from the center of the prop and travel down the blade while doing 360's not to mention end loads on the blade when water is being introduced over the side of the boat. I've seen a lot of props explode and cranks broken and most owners didn't know why other than Blame the prop guy. I'm not a professional at props just an old airboater, but when I see problems I try to put some thought to why it happened. Hope I didn't bore y'all to death with this but I couldn't find a good demonstration of what happens when the load travels from the center of the prop down the blade.

Spencer
14x8 Alumitech Ballistic 383 :rebel:

Andrew McD
Site Supporter - V
Site Supporter - V

Re: Gyroscopic load change while doing 360's

Post by Andrew McD »

Do a search on "360s. Surprising forces are exerted"
(Sorry, can't copy the link on my phone)

This is a post written by David Wine a few years ago. You may also want to look through his posts, there are a LOT of white papers and valuable info on everything from props to whole boat configurations.
Water Walker Props, Inc.
(863) 676-PROP

Deano
Site Supporter - V
Site Supporter - V

Post by Deano »

"The suppression of uncomfortable ideas may be common in religion and politics,
but it is not the path to knowledge; it has no place in the endeavor of science."
- Carl Sagan

Whitebear
Site Supporter - VIII
Site Supporter - VIII

Post by Whitebear »