Aviation engines vs. V-8 Car/Marine engines

Longest running airboat discussion on the internet.
Muddfish

Aviation engines vs. V-8 Car/Marine engines

Post by Muddfish » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:49 pm

I'm new to airboats and know just enough to hurt myself and am looking into purchasing my first airboat.

The one question I can ask and get a different answer every time is: What engines are better in general for airboats, aviation or V-8 car/marine engines, weather it be big block or small????

I would love to hear as many experienced opinions on this as possible.......

Thanks, Muddfish

blackpowderscout
Southern Airboat Member

Post by blackpowderscout » Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:03 pm

Holy Smokes, I see something brewing....YOU'VE JUST OPENED A Image

I have to ruffle some feathers here....aircraft is the way to go cause the chicks dig em!!!

Seriously though?? It all depends on what you want to do. Do you want to run a tour operation??? Better stay away from the 470's and 540's. Do you want a 10' hull??? Better not get a 500 caddy. No one type of motor is always better 100% of the time for every application across the board.

Good question though, I can't wait to see these responses...it was getting boring in here lately.

Adam
"Friends don't let friends hunt with inlines."

NRA Life
Traditional Blackpowder Hunting? http://traditionalblackpowderhunting.com/

c chardt
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI

Post by c chardt » Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:03 pm

I plead the fifth

don't want any part of this one
www.dakotaairboats.com or 321-863-2312
If your looking for Different we build different all boats custom built any way you want.
CNC metal plasma cutting / parts / seats / trailers / hulls / Aluminum work anything you need, polymer

Skeeter
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV

Post by Skeeter » Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:08 pm

Im with CC I plead the fifth.We all seem to be getting along.

basketcase0302
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV

aviation vs. car motor