St. John's River Paddle

Longest running airboat discussion on the internet.
Cricket085
Southern Airboat Member

St. John's River Paddle

Postby Cricket085 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:46 am

Howdy all,
I'm Lindsey, a kayakin' river rat. :) Am planning a trip to cover most of the St. John's starting from Three Forks Marsh and ending up near Palatka.
Not as a 'do-it-all-in-one' kinda thing but in legs and on days I'm able to tackle each leg which would be bout 9-18mi each. I signed on here because I had a couple questions and also
to learn from you guys and gals since I'm pretty much going to be in AB country and want to do this right.

But just wanted to clear out a few things too since us yakkers get a bad rep. :)
I ain't no activist/ ego-eco trippin' hippie who thinks she owns the river. No sir. I don't have no Prius and I'm not out to save the world. When I'm not on the river, I'm a hobbyist
mechanic/car enthusiast and been owning/riding horses for nearly 15 yrs. Been kayaking for as long too and heading to places where I can avoid the dang tourists.
Eventually, I would like to get an AB if I can quit buying car parts!
I'm a real down-to-earth, laid back girl who is not afraid to bump a gator on his snout with a ball bat when he tries to steal the bait off my line. Except for bull gators and crazy momma's, I give em
all the clearance they need! :!:

I agree that a kayaker SHOULD BE REQUIRED to have a flag when out in high vegetation. But I don't know how high I need to have one? I hear 6', 10' 12', etc.
Was also thinking on reflective adhesive tape for early/late hours for increased visibility in the lakes though I am NOT looking to go kayaking in the dark. It's not AB's that I'm looking out for then!

Will be sticking to the main waterways and avoiding AB trails at all costs. Also looking to time it right to avoid high traffic at 'Movie Night' or other meets at the Oakhead, NW of the AB jump near Lake Washington.