Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Longest running airboat discussion on the internet.
Post Reply
User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Wed May 11, 2016 3:06 pm

:banghead: Is there any electricians that is used to wiring the old two lathe motors that use a single capacitor and a 6 way frunas drum switch :dontknow: :dontknow: :dontknow:

It runs fine in reverse (has for years) but forward it wasn't working I changed some wire so now the switch makes it go bot forward or reverse ...... worked fine yesterday :banghead: this morning when I put it in forward motor hums like its stuck , I can hand spin it to get it started and runs until I put a load on it then motor slows down and starts smoking

I am pretty sure it not always starting to spin in forward is "probably" a bad capacitor but not sure if a capacitor would effect it once its spinning and gets a load to bog motor down , I could use some knowledgeable insight form someone

I guess the real question did I wire something wrong or can a bad capacitor cause both issues?????
Attachments
20160423_120521.jpg
Atlas Lathe & Furnas drum switch wiring diagram.jpg
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Wed May 11, 2016 3:08 pm

couple more reference photos
Attachments
20160423_120608.jpg
20160423_120657.jpg
20160423_120714.jpg
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
TheElevatorGuy
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:24 pm
Location: Broward County

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by TheElevatorGuy » Wed May 11, 2016 4:31 pm

Bad cap for sure!

User avatar
digginfool
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 2728
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: South Florida

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by digginfool » Wed May 11, 2016 4:58 pm

TheElevatorGuy wrote:Bad cap for sure!
How can you be so sure? 8) I know you know this crap better than me but the caps should be for mitigating startup surge. Once the motor is up and running, it should be able to maintain, assuming no additional load than normal. I would lean more towards bad windings (obviously no dead short but not a full field being developed) or possibly even brushes? What do you think?
“When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves in the course of time a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it” - Bastiat

User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Wed May 11, 2016 5:10 pm

The load is the same as normal. I can still turn it on to reverse and run the lathe with a load (cutting material) but if I stop an change to forward it is as described above so I don't think anything is wrong with winding.

I'm going to get some help to pull lathe back out so I can get Capacitor off to order a replacement , just hope that's the issue.
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
digginfool
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 2728
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: South Florida

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by digginfool » Wed May 11, 2016 5:23 pm

goldhunter_2 wrote:The load is the same as normal. I can still turn it on to reverse and run the lathe with a load (cutting material) but if I stop an change to forward it is as described above so I don't think anything is wrong with winding.

I'm going to get some help to pull lathe back out so I can get Capacitor off to order a replacement , just hope that's the issue.
When you changed the wiring, did the function of the switch change or stay the same? That is, was forward still forward and reverse was still reverse or opposite?
“When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves in the course of time a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it” - Bastiat

User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Wed May 11, 2016 6:00 pm

Welllllllllllllll when I wired the drum switch 8-9-10?? years ago it only ran Reverse an worked fine for the stuff I was doing until now, that's the way I called "original" on my wiring diagram . In the original wiring Forward & Neutral where both "off"-- so I basically had the switch wired wrong originally. The re-wired switch wiring diagram you can see I swapped the orange and white wire , now all three work F-N-R
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
TheElevatorGuy
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 681
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 8:24 pm
Location: Broward County

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by TheElevatorGuy » Wed May 11, 2016 6:53 pm

Replace the cap and call it a day......15 yrs of working with all sorts of electrical motors is what tells me so Mr. Diggin!

swamp_fever
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 7:00 pm

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by swamp_fever » Wed May 11, 2016 6:59 pm

You need to wire it back like it was then to change the rotation reverse the line one and line two supply line to change rotation
according to the wiring data plate on the back of the motor

User avatar
digginfool
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 2728
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:00 pm
Location: South Florida

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by digginfool » Wed May 11, 2016 7:00 pm

That's right, hamster dong. It's Mr. Diggin to you and don't you forget it.
“When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men living together in society, they create for themselves in the course of time a legal system that authorizes it and a moral code that glorifies it” - Bastiat

Gary S
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Redlands

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by Gary S » Thu May 12, 2016 7:25 am

Temporarily wire motor ro run forward with no switch. You are using same windings and same start cap in both directions. Only thing different is the switch.

User avatar
PeaRiverOpossum
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI
Posts: 2036
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Ino, AL-LA-BAMA
Contact:

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by PeaRiverOpossum » Thu May 12, 2016 9:11 am

Kinda half way read all the details but if your caps have the same ratings why not swap them out and see if the problem follows the bad suspected CAP. Just mark them before you start....speaking from experience there...LOL

User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Thu May 12, 2016 12:07 pm

PeaRiverOpossum wrote:Kinda half way read all the details but if your caps have the same ratings why not swap them out and see if the problem follows the bad suspected CAP. Just mark them before you start....speaking from experience there...LOL
This is only a single Cap motor
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
goldhunter_2
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 8953
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by goldhunter_2 » Thu May 12, 2016 12:12 pm

Gary S wrote:Temporarily wire motor ro run forward with no switch. You are using same windings and same start cap in both directions. Only thing different is the switch.
This is the only configuration that I have gotten Forward, if you see something I should have wired differently in the diagram let me know. If memory serves me these caps aren't used like a modern start cap they have something to do with reversing the rotation ...I could be wrong , it could be my wring or a bad cap
.


Support our future , get a kid involved in the outdoors!!

:rebel:



.

User avatar
jimbo_jwc
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:41 am

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by jimbo_jwc » Thu May 12, 2016 6:12 pm

They usually switch the starting windings in relation to the run windings hooked parallel with the lines .

User avatar
jimbo_jwc
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:41 am

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by jimbo_jwc » Thu May 12, 2016 6:38 pm

Here is one if A n B are the lines 1 n 2
1 n 3 are the run windings
2 n 4 would be starting windings, switch and capacitor

Check to see if your switch make the connections shown
Attachments
drumdiagram.JPG
connections

Gary S
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I
Posts: 1622
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:30 pm
Location: Redlands

Re: Any electricians use to the old two way capctior motors

Post by Gary S » Fri May 13, 2016 7:25 am

If it runs fine in reverse if should run fine in forward. You are using the same windings either way. I would suspect there are some contacts in the the reversing switch that are going bad.
Or as Jimbo said something is wired wrong.

Post Reply

Return to “Airboat Talk”