Breather vent tube

Aircraft powered airboat discussion.
SteveP
Southern Airboat Member

Breather vent tube

Post by SteveP » Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:06 am

Little worried! Breather tube has fairly steady stream of Whitish smoke coming from it. Motor is running great otherwise. Don’t see any smoke coming out of exhaust. Is this normal? I know that they boil condensation from oil when they heat up, but this seems more like smoke than condensation

marshthumper
Southern Airboat Member

Re: Breather vent tube

Post by marshthumper » Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:49 pm

Have you done a compression check and leakdown check? Could it be some blow by or excess case pressure from a valve seat or ring? Would also help to have a lil more info. As to what motor you’re running and mods or setup.
Homebuilt 12ft deckover with Lycoming O-360

SteveP
Southern Airboat Member

Post by SteveP » Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:21 pm

Sorry I’m new to aircraft engines and far from a mechanic. It’s a 4 cylinder lycoming, I believe to be a 0-290. No I haven’t done a leak down test or a compression test. The motor sat for 5 years or so, I changed oil and it’s been running beautiful other than the smoke. Smoke doesn’t seem to start till it warms up a bit. I was thinking the same thing that it could be blow by, I read somewhere that it would turn the oil black quite quickly if this is the problem and oil would smell like gas. I’ve been keeping an eye on it and it still looks relatively new and doesn’t smell of gas. Not sure if this is the case but could very well be. Plugs are staying clean! Not sure if this helps any.

Slidin Gator
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV

Post by Slidin Gator » Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:29 pm

If it’s vapor it disappears real quick. Blow by will make your oil temps hot and will push smoke out the blow by (guess that’s where the name came from). No smoke in exhaust is good, probably not a valve issue.