6.5 Diesel In An Airboat?

Automotive powered airboat discussion.
DZZ71
Southern Airboat Member

6.5 Diesel In An Airboat?

Post by DZZ71 »

Hi everyone First time posting on site. Im really interested in building an airboat from scratch since they are not really common up where i live. Now i would like to build one using a 6.5 diesel engine, I have rebuilt a couple of them block up running many different turbos with tuning so i know how to get good power outta them. Now i would also like to build it for snow and water application for year round use up here. I have been thinking 1/4 inch thick aluminum bottem on the hull sides 3/16? how big would i half to build it to safely hold the weight of the engine hull and passengers? I am a journeymen tickited welder i own a 60x40 shop with most of the equipment i need to build it and what i dont own i have access to. Also would a direct drive application work well for the engine/prop configuration? Main purpose of this boat will be fishing and crusing around the ponds,lakes and well odvoiusly through the fields in the snow :D Thank you in advance everyone im really loking foward to this!

happy harold
Site Supporter - VIII
Site Supporter - VIII

Re: 6.5 Diesel In An Airboat?

Post by happy harold »

like aircraft. airboats are about weight. think 1/8 inch bottom if you are going with that small diesel. jmo

:)
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Post by :) »

Contact both GTO aitboats and Panther airboats. Both contacts can be found in the Airboat directory on this site. Both have done the diesel thing and could give u some helpful Info
14 ft Combee. 4 seater, BPE 383 sb chevy, 2.09 stinger, 3 blade ww stump puller.
"When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty." Thomas Jefferson

DZZ71
Southern Airboat Member

Post by DZZ71 »

Thanks! I will send them a PM

:)
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Post by :) »