This ECOTEC any good?

Automotive powered airboat discussion.
One Eyed Gator
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Ocala,Fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by One Eyed Gator » Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:43 am

Really, scarecrow!!! that would be 15,008 motor rpms to turn that prop 5,600 with a 2.68 box lol.

Yes, motor. He is readjusting to bring it down to 5,300 on the trailer. Should do a little better.

Scarecrow
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: west palm beach to sebring

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by Scarecrow » Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:50 am

Well I was just reading what you wrote. :lol: :rebel:

One Eyed Gator
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 1273
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 11:33 am
Location: Ocala,Fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by One Eyed Gator » Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:57 am

Must have been typing with my bad eye, lol. I reread it myself it would leave you to believe it was the prop as written.

But sure does run well.

Scarecrow
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 1292
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:01 pm
Location: west palm beach to sebring

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by Scarecrow » Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:01 pm

If you could turn that motor 15,000 rpms, I,m sure Nascar would be more than happy to talk to ya. :lol: :rebel:

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:11 pm

The 2.4L SIDI VVT with Century Belt Drive, ECM, Wiring Harness, Fuel Pump Control Module, Throttle Pedal, Console with Aeroforce Gauge, OBD connector, and Ing Switch, Fuse and Relay Panel, Radiator with hoses and clamps, Aluminum Pressure Fill Tank, SS motor mount Kit with bolts and rubbers, SS Engine Stand for a deck-over, Cold Air Intake with Filter, Water, and oil. Tune Loaded and test run.
481 lbs.
AK 2.4 LAF 05.jpg
2.4L LAF Running Package
Thanks, Chuck

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:22 pm

Good job Chuck.
Your experience with these engines is invaluable.
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

gso480jr
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 10:18 am
Location: spring hill

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gso480jr » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:23 pm

X2 :cheers:

captrndy
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 8:56 pm
Location: Homosassa,FL

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by captrndy » Tue Apr 15, 2014 8:42 pm

Chuck does the aeroforce gauge tell you everything? Like oil pressure, rpms, water temp everything in one gauge? Do you think any weight will be shaved off that with a gear box?

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:07 pm

The Aeroforce gauge does absolutely everything.
However, it's very hard to see in bright sunlight,
And, it ain't waterproof at ALL.
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

User avatar
jaxduramax
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Jacksonville, NC

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by jaxduramax » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:24 pm

Chuck, PM me a price on the setup pictured please.

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:24 pm

Here is a link to the gauge we use.
http://www.aeroforcetech.com/products_interceptor.html

You might add 10 to 15 lbs for the gear reduction, 5.5 lbs for the 1 inch adaptor plate, a few more lbs for extra hardware.

Thanks, Chuck

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:42 am

General Motors never installed the 2.4L SIDI VVT in a Manual Transmission Car so a base tune was never written where this engine could be run in a standalone condition. Using the stock ECM, the engine would only turn 3900 RPM due to not getting a signal from the transmission letting the ECM know it was in gear. The ECM would maintain a park/neutral rev limit. We had to use an ECM from a car that could be bought with a manual transmission and have a tune written to get this engine to run wide open throttle. When we set-up one of these engines, we use a 2010 ECM with a specific service number so the tune we had written will work.
This is still the best performing non-turbo 4 cylinder engine available. We haven't tried the new 2.5L.
We have sold this engine to 3 Airboat manufacturers and a complete electrical system to Environment Canada and a class 10 desert race car. It is becoming a very popular engine.

Thanks, Chuck

tighand
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by tighand » Tue Apr 22, 2014 6:03 am

i run a 2.2 nonturbo on a 4seater railbuggy and its awsome. 160h .all the ecotech engins are great and i wouldnt understand going to a carb . injection is more responsive and no tuning required.

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:17 am

Have a look at Alpha Fab Industries website.
They specialize in the ECOtec engines, and support.
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:58 pm

No browsers?
Some very reasonable prices on their website.
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:05 pm

Tighand, what transaxle, and what adapter do you use?
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

User avatar
Alpha Fab
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 9:44 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by Alpha Fab » Thu May 08, 2014 5:08 pm

gyrocopter582 wrote:Have a look at Alpha Fab Industries website.
They specialize in the ECOtec engines, and support.
Hi Jerry - thanks for plug. Keep us posted on your Gyro Program!
chuckitt@earthlink.net wrote:General Motors never installed the 2.4L SIDI VVT in a Manual Transmission Car so a base tune was never written where this engine could be run in a standalone condition. Using the stock ECM, the engine would only turn 3900 RPM due to not getting a signal from the transmission letting the ECM know it was in gear. The ECM would maintain a park/neutral rev limit. We had to use an ECM from a car that could be bought with a manual transmission and have a tune written to get this engine to run wide open throttle. When we set-up one of these engines, we use a 2010 ECM with a specific service number so the tune we had written will work.
This is still the best performing non-turbo 4 cylinder engine available. We haven't tried the new 2.5L.
We have sold this engine to 3 Airboat manufacturers and a complete electrical system to Environment Canada and a class 10 desert race car. It is becoming a very popular engine.

Thanks, Chuck
Are you using the E37? Our military and boat customers prefer electronic. The Budweiser Racing SCORE Class 5 Baja though is mandated to use cable. In terms of the 2.4 DI being the best performing - I'll have to disagree [with all due respect]. The aftermarket is just catching up to take full advantage. That advantage and ROI [for the customer] is minimal. The nuts and bolts of it put MAYBE 5-10 RWHP when it is all said and done. Even then - what's the point? It's more complicated. It's more expensive. I guess if you're fine paying $2000+ for 5-10 RWHP... We can usually find that in tuning and 93 PUMP Gas. That's not to say we're not using the 2.4 DI or we're not boosting the 2.4 DI - they just aren't the preference yet.

The aftermarket is usually judged on evolution and advancement of the LSX. How many aftermarket LSX cars/boats are running DI? How many NHRA or SCCA programs are running DI? LITTLE TO NONE. GM developed DI for fuel efficiency. A sub product of that fuel efficiency was the ability to take advantage of fuel atomization and combustion changes in engine calibrations. However, that also meant the OEM style engine management systems are/have been redesigned. It is why the LNF Bosch controller uses TMF and one reason why the aftermarket hasn't fully caught up [because the MAPS aren't available].
Specializing in EFI Systems Design, Engineering, & Tuning for the GM Ecotec, LF3, and LSX Platform
http://www.alphafabindustries.com
(734) 794.3082
sales@alphafabindustries.com
Image

gyrocopter582
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:05 pm
Location: 3/4 mile due east of the north tip of Lake Washington, Melbourne Florida.

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by gyrocopter582 » Thu May 08, 2014 10:08 pm

Hello Alpha Fab, and welcome to the forum!
Small correction, my name is Mike!
Anyhow, my gyro copter flies every weekend, with just over 260 hours and counting, a total rush to fly!
Your harness is very nicely done, with obvious attention to detail. I have solved my issues on my ECOtec
airboat, and will report on the performance with your ECM and 'Off-Road' tune.
"Amaze your friends, annoy your neighbors"

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Thu May 08, 2014 11:16 pm

Hey Alpha Fab, good to have you on the forum.
The first ecotec i was ask to make run was an LNF and the customer wanted to get the best fuel milage he could get and have good power when he put his foot in it. I talked to every company that made aftermarket controllers and knowone had one for the direct injected engines. We had to use the GM ECM. That also is why most everyone uses the EFI engines.
We are using the E39 ECM that comes in most of the new GM cars. We just set up an LAF for a class 10 desert car, waiting to see how it does this year.
I just enjoy working on the latest thing out.
Thanks, Chuck

bbstimey
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: sebastian, fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by bbstimey » Fri May 09, 2014 6:59 am

does anyone use the supercharged version, only heard of the turbo version on airboats
14'x8' JB hull w/Stingered GO-480 w/ electronic ignition and 3 blade 80" R

bbstimey
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: sebastian, fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by bbstimey » Sun May 11, 2014 5:55 am

nobody's tried the supercharged motor
14'x8' JB hull w/Stingered GO-480 w/ electronic ignition and 3 blade 80" R

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Sun May 11, 2014 7:49 am

Yes, we done a 2007 Cobalt 2.0L SC for an airboat in Texas. We used the Century Belt Drive which is only good for about 250 HP. We adjusted the tune for a max HP at 250. His 13 X 7-6 Alumitech Boat still goes where he wants to go. He is tickled with his new boat.
Thanks, Chuck

bbstimey
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: sebastian, fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by bbstimey » Sun May 11, 2014 7:32 pm

which would be better in airboat turbo or supercharged version?
14'x8' JB hull w/Stingered GO-480 w/ electronic ignition and 3 blade 80" R

chuckitt@earthlink.net
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1679
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:43 pm
Location: Lake Panasoffkee
Contact:

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by chuckitt@earthlink.net » Sun May 11, 2014 7:56 pm

Turbo

bbstimey
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: sebastian, fl

Re: This ECOTEC any good?

Post by bbstimey » Mon May 12, 2014 7:07 am

why, problems with supercharger?. just being curious seems with a turbo having to spool
the supercharger would be better.
14'x8' JB hull w/Stingered GO-480 w/ electronic ignition and 3 blade 80" R

Post Reply

Return to “Automotive Power Only”