Caddy 500 thrust bearing problem

Automotive powered airboat discussion.
augur
Southern Airboat Member

Caddy 500 thrust bearing problem

Postby augur » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:18 am

Ever noticed how a drill bit cuts metal better at slow speed vs high speed? This is my theory of why I wasted my new thrust bearing within a few hours of light running. My prop pitch was limiting my engine rpms to 2200. Too much thrust at low engine rpms? I'm new to airboats and not sure exactly where to set my pitch vs engine rpms. I have read that this engine should be limited to around 2800 rpms. Should I set the pitch so the engines power can't overcome 2800 rpms, or pitch it less and use the throttle stop? Any Ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Striker543
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Re: Caddy 500 thrust bearing problem

Postby Striker543 » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:50 am

Don't think the prop speed was the cause. Many caddys spend years at an average cruising speed of +/- 2000rpms. Was this a newly rebuilt engine or a junkyard engine? What oil were you running in it?

BluByU2
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II

Postby BluByU2 » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:53 am

The thrust bearing surface is smaller than the area on big block Chevys, and according to Buddy Branch, the one thing which will eat up the bearing on a Caddy is running narrow blades instead of the wider ones. The type lubricant used is another factor. Rotella 15-40 with a quart of Lucas, and 4 oz. of Comp Cams additive is a proven combination for longevity in a petroleum product, and Amzoil Zrod with Lucas is a good choice for a synthetic.

augur
Southern Airboat Member

Postby augur » Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:50 am