Carbed 6.0 LS fuel pump

Automotive powered airboat discussion.
Beebo
Southern Airboat Member

Carbed 6.0 LS fuel pump

Post by Beebo »

I am running a carbed 6.0 LS on a 15" aluminum boat. The motor has run amazing since the original build one year ago. However, I took it out this past Saturday and it ran like crap, backfired, and lost power when under load and accelerating. At idle it purred like a champ, and at WOT I couldn't notice any changes or deficits. I'm thinking fuel pump. I unplugged all spark plugs and all coil packs and with each, a noticeable change occurred with engine idle. I'm thinking the fuel pump may be the culprit, but I have limited experience with issues like these. I am running a summit brand external fuel pump, 105 GPM with a maximum of 14 PSI. I swear it was running 11-12 pounds of pressure before this weekend, and now it's running around 7-8 pounds. All that being said, I am going to order a new fuel pump and wanted to ask for recommendations for a carbed LS airboat motor. My boat runs 95% saltwater and is primarily a fishing boat. This does expose it to the crud and elements of saltwater.

Gary S
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Re: Carbed 6.0 LS fuel pump

Post by Gary S »

I think I would check filters first.

One Eyed Gator
Southern Airboat Member

Post by One Eyed Gator »

One thing to check is the caps on the vacuum ports. The black rubber caps don't last very long. I use the silicon style and just had to replace one one those.

If you are running a holley this is from Holley website
A. FUEL PRESSURE: This carburetor has been designed to work best at fuel pressures between 5 and 7 psi. Holley recommends 7 psi at idle, and a minimum 4 psi at engine redline.

Deano
Site Supporter - V
Site Supporter - V

Post by Deano »

First of all, don't overlook the good advice you have already been given.

If your current pump is 14 psi capable and is in fact producing 11-12 psi,