hook in my hull

A general, non-powerplant specific, discussion on airboat technology, ie., hulls, rigging, polymer, etc..
duckhunter1984
Southern Airboat Member

hook in my hull

Post by duckhunter1984 »

My 18' diamond back....sticks its nose in the mud when in shallow water...and also even seems like it rides on its nose in deeper water.....The only way to make it run super smooth in an inch or so of water is to get it slidding a little and then it stops immediately... I think it is a hook in my hull....On the back sides somebody has hit something very hard...I would guess sliding and hit a stump or ice... Any suggestions I am going to pull my cage this weekend and try to beat the hull out.....I hear people talking about "jacks" what exactly are they....Im new to airboat.. so that maybe a stupid question...I just need to get my boat fixed and need suggestion and comments

Thanks

Travis

scottyroll
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Re: hook in my hull

Post by scottyroll »

Jacks are like a cross member that you bolt in between the sides of your rigging. You can use nuts and bolts attached to a plate to push down the stringers in your hull to reinforce it or put a slight convex in it. Plenty of pics available.

https://www.google.com/search?q=airboat ... Bw#imgdii=_
:Scotty-Roll:
FLAwless

1999 14ft Alumitech deckover. ZZ502. 2.37 Stinger. 4 blade WW Falcon Prop

HuntingBigun
Site Supporter - VIII
Site Supporter - VIII

Post by HuntingBigun »