help !! 2007 gto airboat 350 starting issue.

A general, non-powerplant specific, discussion on airboat technology, ie., hulls, rigging, polymer, etc..
BorderBandits
Southern Airboat Member

help !! 2007 gto airboat 350 starting issue.

Postby BorderBandits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:54 pm

I'm new to the airboat community and bought a nice used 2007 airboat with a nice 350 carbureted engine. Everything is working great just has an issue when starting the boat. You put the key in and turn it and it goes click then the second try it still goes click but on the third try every time it fires up like both and runs great. I changed the starter and cleaned all the engine and starter grounds but it still does the same thing. Even cleaned the wires that meet the key ignition no change. It has the battery swith from battery one or two or all. Is that the problem I need help please guys. Thanks.

BorderBandits
Southern Airboat Member

Re: help !! 2007 gto airboat 350 starting issue.

Postby BorderBandits » Sun Mar 29, 2015 5:55 pm

I forgot to mention the battery's are new and testing good.

skinny99
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II

Postby skinny99 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:43 pm

Is there a ground strap from rigging to engine and one from battery to rigging? Sounds like a lack of grounding to me.
Successful people do what others won't or can't!

jeepinocala1111
Site Supporter - I
Site Supporter - I

Postby jeepinocala1111 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:09 pm

You said you changed the starter did you make them test it. A friend just got a new starter and the first one they gave him was bad. I do agree sounds like a ground or starter selenoid. Does GTO use a starter relays.

nomad41
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI

Postby nomad41 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 8:11 pm

Change out ign. Switch. I had one go bad and that is what it did. Buy a good marine ign. Switch. Not some cheap piece of junk from advance auto
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nomad41/
Treasurer FAA
Member:FAA, KRVSA ,IRCAA, FSCA