welder?

A general, non-powerplant specific, discussion on airboat technology, ie., hulls, rigging, polymer, etc..
Post Reply
redrocket
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:43 pm

welder?

Post by redrocket » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:27 pm

Thinking of purchasing a millermatic 180 . A few qu outestions would I be able to plug into a 220 outlet where my dryer is plugged into? Will I be able to weld conduit for rigging? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated !

User avatar
JAMES
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 8569
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: cocoa
Contact:

Re: welder?

Post by JAMES » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:29 pm

mine is rigged like that and yes i weld mostley conduit mine is a 180 lincon KEEP THE CORD SHORT AND THICK
https://m.facebook.com/321ccc/?ref=bookmarks Wp383 268 rotator 3 bld WT/EX 14.4 perdator

User avatar
pipedog
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 2446
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:28 pm
Location: Loxahatchee Fl

Re: welder?

Post by pipedog » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:34 pm

You would have to change the plug, to fit the dryer outlet. Thats no biggie.
Palm Beach open hull 13'9" with 6.0 F.I. LS - Ox Box and a 3bld "R"

User avatar
JAMES
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 8569
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: cocoa
Contact:

Re: welder?

Post by JAMES » Thu Jan 19, 2012 8:38 pm

pipedog wrote:You would have to change the plug, to fit the dryer outlet. Thats no biggie.
X2 I PAID 13 BUCKS FOR MINE AT LOWES
https://m.facebook.com/321ccc/?ref=bookmarks Wp383 268 rotator 3 bld WT/EX 14.4 perdator

K-mac
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:09 pm
Location: PalmBayFL.

Re: welder?

Post by K-mac » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:01 pm

the dryer outlet is likely a 30amp. circut, check the welder to see the required
circut ampperage. Seems like it may be 50amp. if so, you may trip the breaker
now and then when your pushing towards the limits of your duty cycle.
If your breaker box is in your garage, you may just want to drop in a 50 amp
outlet just below it. It would be fairly cheap and easy.
:rebel:
If the south would'a won we'da had it made!

User avatar
bowhunterfl
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:56 am
Location: high spring

Re: welder?

Post by bowhunterfl » Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:10 pm

The miller 180 in a good machine. 30 amp is good as Long as you are welding small stuff you should be fine. But I would put a 50 amp in. It will save you money in the long run on the power bill.
14' combee 454 BBC 2to1 belt drive spinnen 3 wirlwind master blasters.

redrocket
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:43 pm

Re: welder?

Post by redrocket » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:17 am

Thanks guys I really appreciate the help! Weldng conduit is it easier high heat or low heat?

cntry141iq
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI
Posts: 10136
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: bradenton florida
Contact:

Re: welder?

Post by cntry141iq » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:24 am

in case you don't know .... you better have some good ventilation when welding conduit ... the smoke is poison ... you will still be tasting it the next day ...
Don't waste your time ... it is the only thing you can't get more of
.. if it accidentally looks like I gave advice please ignore it .. and notify me immediately

User avatar
PeaRiverOpossum
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI
Posts: 2036
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Ino, AL-LA-BAMA
Contact:

Re: welder?

Post by PeaRiverOpossum » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:26 am

I really like my hobart 190 with the spoolgun. It is all made by miller anyway. Both of my guns have miller on them. For $830 with free shipping is hard to beat.
http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/ ... _200482227

User avatar
Cowboy Rock
Site Supporter - VI
Site Supporter - VI
Posts: 1705
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 5:04 pm
Location: Dry Branch, Ga
Contact:

Re: welder?

Post by Cowboy Rock » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:06 am

Drink milk and have good ventilation,,,

:drunken: :rebel: :old_glory:
Wet Dreams Too,,,

14 ft. Panther,,, 370ci SBC, 72 in Whirlwind Whispertip, Line-X-350 X bottom,,,

"Full bloodied Dog hunting man"

Dry Branch, Ga.

Thats how I roll,,,

User avatar
timmmyy
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: sebastian Fl

Re: welder?

Post by timmmyy » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:18 am

Wear a good organic vapor half face respirator gas mask, along with extreme ventilation
Olways on the furst date

User avatar
MJD291
Site Supporter - II
Site Supporter - II
Posts: 1889
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: OAK HILL FLA

Re: welder?

Post by MJD291 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:32 am

If you just plan on welding conduit. I would look at getting a 110v welder. I have a hobart 140 than runs on 110v and it does everything I need and I can plug it in anywhere there is a normal outlet and it wasn't as expensive as the Hobart 180/ 220v. Just a thought.
I LOVE THE SMELL OF AV GAS IN THE MORNING. IT SMELLS LIKE..... VICTORY

User avatar
harley
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 2073
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 9:53 pm
Location: BREVARD CANAVERAL GROVES COCOA

Re: welder?

Post by harley » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:59 am

I also have a 110 amp Lincoln , it works great on , ss , conduit & welda up to 1/4 - 3/8'' steel works very well.. will do what you need it to do...
:thumbleft: :rebel:
14x8 Diamondback / SBC Power.

"ALL THROTTLE NO BOTTLE"

scott wheeler
Site Supporter - IV
Site Supporter - IV
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:13 am
Location: lakeland fl

Re: welder?

Post by scott wheeler » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:11 am

You will figure out the heat range. When it burns a hole turn it doun and when the rod sticks turn it up. I know you knew that. Scott

redrocket
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:43 pm

Re: welder?

Post by redrocket » Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:59 am

Yea I didn't know about how important the ventilation was any info helps thanks!

User avatar
lgower
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:14 am
Location: Dade city

Re: welder?

Post by lgower » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:41 am

NEVER EVER NEVER put a higher amp breaker in a spot that already has a breaker ALWAYS run a new wire to the box if you need a higher amp breaker, the breaker and wire work together, If you put a higher amp breaker in the wire could melt before the breaker throws, NOT GOOD
Lee and DeAnne
0540 , Jimmy white Square nose , ss rigging

User avatar
aherr520
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 1096
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:42 pm
Location: Paisley

Re: welder?

Post by aherr520 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:17 pm

also you should sand the coating off of the weld area before you weld it. It will weld much easier and better and you will not need that much amperage to weld conduit
aaof member

User avatar
Duane Scarborough
Site Supporter - III
Site Supporter - III
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Wilson, NC

Re: welder?

Post by Duane Scarborough » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:42 pm

redrocket,

Myself, I love my MillerMatic 140. It's a 120V machine, and does great on the thin stuff.

Nope, it is NOT the welder you want for the thick stuff. But for the thin stuff, it is great.

Duane

Granted, I've got mine set up with a bottle of tri-mix, for SS. But I've also tried it with flux cored wire.

It does "OK" with the flux cored wire, but I sure can't recommend it. It's not the welders fault. Its just that flux cored wire
just doesn't work great. Yeah, it'll work, but not great.

Set it up for SS, with tri-mix gas. Then you can do clean welds on most anything ferrous. Now, aluminum is a whole different thing. :shock:
Last edited by Duane Scarborough on Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hull: Airboat Pros MiniPro 116 / Frog Spit on the bottom
Rigging: Stainless Steel-side by side seating
Motor: Teledyne 4A084-4
Carb: Solex H30/31
Reduction: Arrow Prop 1.73:1
Prop: 67" Whirl Wind Mini Prop
Speed: unknown yet

combatcatcher
Southern Airboat Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: welder?

Post by combatcatcher » Fri Jan 20, 2012 8:55 pm

I bought the Lincoln 3200 weld pack wire feed at Lowe's for $500 and it works great for conduit,SS,aluminum and up to 5/16 with a single pass.It's a 110volt unit and i keep it on a 20amp dedicated circuit just like you would with a refridgerator. it holds a 5lb spool or a 2lb with flux which i wouldn't suggest for welding on your cage just because it's not as clean as gas but burns just as well. I use the flux core on ,say my dog boxes but like gas better on finer and neater welds. you would have to buy the gas bottles for the unit and your ready to go. I've had mine for about 7 years and have built trailers,cages,4x4's and many other jobs and never had one problem with it. even left it in the back of my truck in the rain and still works great

Post Reply

Return to “Airboat Tech”